What you are, who you wear?

Mr.Possible and I finished a fun day at the Roseville, California mall and my feet are sore! This mall was insanely big with multiple floors and tons of name brand stores. As we walked around we came across Abercrombie and Fitch, the store recently bashed for being unsympathetic towards plus sizes. I do not agree with what the CEO has said but also don’t agree with the fat pride movement. I think everyone should love their skin but trying to make obesity an acceptable standard seems ridiculous…There is a normal weight and a curvy size that is okay. I am in no way a skinny girl but I do walk that average/above average line (152 and I am 5’1). Today I walked into A&F to buy a dress and a woman made a comment saying that I was terrible for continuing to shop there. I simply said that I will not stop buying a quality product that I like because of what the CEO thinks. If plus size woman think that I am purposely bashing them by wearing the product then I think they have one serious ego. I cannot wear clothes from Lane Bryant but wouldn’t complain because I think it is normal for companies to pick target groups (whether they’re bigger or smaller). Now, I understand people view A&F as unwearable now due to the interview with Michael Jeffries but that seems extreme. If the Lane Bryant CEO said she despises skinny people then I would think “gee that person sure is a troll” but if plus size women looked good in the clothes then they should continue to wear the brand. It seems that you are what you wear. I just didn’t realize my cute new dress would define my views on weight….

Leave a comment