My Friends?

I have had the same friends since the fifth grade and it amazes me to see how life has changed us. I was the only one of my friends to leave high school early, get married young, work full time, and miss senior year. In honesty I don’t feel like I am missing anything. My friends sound miserable. While they deal with senior year BS, I am off enjoying community college and a full time job. Surprisingly, I enjoy the business of it all. Even though I am legally married I am still at home with the family. Mr. Possible and I signed our license in order to get on the housing list so we wouldn’t be homeless after the honeymoon. Weddings drain you and we wanted to have a on-base home prepared for our arrival. Things didn’t turn out as planned but, now we will return to our apartment in Roseville, CA. My friends and I are in completely different worlds! Oddly enough only one of them has started planning her future…I don’t claim to be mature but, suddenly my friends seem to be on a different page. I love them all and know they are here for me but, we don’t have much in common. Once they join me in the real world I am sure we will once again feel connected but, until then I am stranded. They are my only anchor and a constant reminder that my life has started. As they gripe about prom dresses I sit here and fuss over insurance/ wedding struggles. Never in a million years would I have predicted my life to lead me here. My sister (best friend-seen above)  and I talked the other night while laying on her patio. She and I are drifting towards different paths, we always thought we would be together and live -at most- a couple hours away…Obviously, that is impossible. I am so happy to be where I am but, it is hard seeing all that I have slowly transform into a memory. May I never forget any of them. 

Leave a comment